Parc de la Chute-Montmorency
Discover the Parc de la Chute Montmorency, which can be reached in just a few minutes from downtown Québec City. It is one of the most spectacular historic and natural sites in Québec.
Located east of Québec City, in a unique natural setting, Parc de la Chute Montmorency was classified “historic” in 1994. It offers an incomparable view of the St. Lawrence River, Île d’Orléans and the “Vieille Capitale”. It has been made famous by its 83 metre waterfall. That is 30 metres higher than Niagara Falls. It offers a range of attractions. On top of the cape, Manoir Montmorency dominates the western side of the waterfall. The original Manoir was built in 1781 and served variously as a private residence, a hospital, a monastery and a hotel. It has a rich history and many celebrities have been guests or have lived at the Manoir. Among them, there was the Duke of Kent – Queen Victoria’s father – who resided there from 1791 to 1794.
The Manoir now offers an interpretation centre, a terrace with panoramic view, boutiques and rooms for meetings and receptions that can accommodate up to 600 guests.
Visitors can undertake a complete tour of the falls: the cable car ride offers a breathtaking panorama. From the Manoir, a panoramic drive leads to a bridge that is perfectly integrated in the landscape. A bridge over the waterfall takes the visitors to a second bridge leads to a grassy area and various activities, as well as a patio which offers stunning views. Stairs and belvederes on the east side of the fall lead to the foot of the cape.
During the winter months, the waterfall causes a natural phenomenon called a “sugarloaf” which people of the region use for sledding.
Guided tours on weekends during the summer season.
Period of operation :
The site is open year-round. For schedule and admission fees, go to: www.sepaq.com/chutemontmorency
Guided tours for groups
Partially handicapped accessible
2490, avenue Royale, Beauport (Qc) G1C 1S1
Telephone : 418 663-3330
Fax : 418 663-1666